MPhil Class

Daisy Jones, Paddy Bouma & Willie Schlechter. 2006

 

Tomorrow I meet with some friends and fellow illustrators for a picnic at Spier wine farm.  It’s been about a year since I’ve seen some of them and now is the time to catch up socially (as much as one can over one lunch) and discuss our latest illustration endeavours.  We’re a mixed bunch, but what we share in common is the fact that we studied together, doing our Mphil in Illustration at Stellenbosch University.  Some of us completed the degree on 2 years, some in 3, and others are taking a break planning to finish it when life lends them the time.  At commencement of the course lead by children’s book writer and illustrator, Paddy Bouma, in the true cliché saying; I felt a whole new world awaited me… which did.  Paddy offered a truly awesome course where I learnt so much and was introduced to talented, interesting people.  It’s been 4 years since that beginning and I have subsequently learnt that being a freelance illustrator is not such an easy endeavour and I am curious to find out how my ex classmates have been coping with the challenges which surround our profession.  I’ll be back with feedback!

Leave a Reply

